» Updates

Reviews

The Gateway Playhouse of Horrors was horrible – in a good way if you like Haunted Houses! I was tricked into going in and so I screamed my head off the entire time. At one point I was crying. I could not wait for it to be over- my heart was racing so I ran through and it took 20 minutes! It was so, so scary. They have a ton of pro actors with amazing make-up and costumes. They tell a really good ghost story and then you are stuck in it. I was so freaked out I can’t stop thinking about it! It was just really really creepy.


Elisa DiStefano , Anchor – Blog, News 12



LongIsland.com – Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse: A Peek Inside Bellport’s Terrifying Theater
By Christina Abbatecola
Oct. 7, 2014


From the brilliant set design to the fantastical costumes and the dedicated performances of the monsters inside, every second of Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse smacks of professionalism. The theater has had several years now to hone its haunted craft, and the effort put into the production truly comes through in every scene and every scare. Actors young and old give their all, providing visitors a haunt that is as entertaining as it is scary.


RavenBlackCat.com – REVIEW: Gateway Playhouse
By The Raven & Black Cat
Sept. 24, 2014


The amount of sensory detail is astounding. The journey is covered with uneven and moving walkways, electric sparks, pungent smells, and spectacular visuals. The superb costumes and makeup help the talented actors create an environment straight out of your worst nightmare.

Gateway also succeeds in creating the party environment that so many haunts are trying to achieve. There is an outdoor bar and food trucks to enjoy while you wait to enter the haunt. Their brilliant ticketing system limits wait time, so patrons can enjoy food, drink, and roaming characters and entertainers.

Gateway Playhouse has once again created a brilliantly theatrical haunt. It is visually stunning and scary as hell. Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse is a MUST SEE. You will not be disappointed.



TheJadedViewer.com – Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse (Review)
By The Jaded Viewer
Oct. 30, 2013


Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse is one of the best haunted houses I have ever been to. The set pieces, the actors and the dedication to making something new and inventive separates Gateway from the rest… The props and rooms are made from scratch, the actors immerse themselves into their parts and the scares are well timed and flow perfectly. This is as close to a perfect haunted house as you can get.

Gateway Haunted Playhouse is 40 or so minutes of exhilaration. You can see this isn’t your store bought haunt with Travel Channel approved animatronics but a world class production making sure you get a one of a kind experience. Each room is like a hot set, dressed a Hollywood production. The actors engulf themselves in their roles, their costumes designed to be realistic, their makeup world class.



Ghost News Network – Live Broadcast from Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse
By Mike Cardinuto, Robert Levine & Dimitri Haritos
Oct. 27, 2013


We’ve been rating haunted houses here on LI for the past two weeks. For the money and the time, this is definitely one of the best ones! (Listen to live patron reviews on the broadcast)



New York Times – Face to Face With My Inner Mean Old Man
By Bob Morris
Oct. 23, 2013


When I finally bought a ticket and went inside, encouraged by both morbid curiosity and good word of mouth, I was surprised to discover a series of artfully designed and directed tableaux vivants reminiscent of installations by Edward Kienholz, Paul McCarthy, Marina Abramovic and “Sleep No More,” the eerie, immersive downtown theater hit. I emerged scared out of my mind, but also elevated by the virtuosity.

LongIsland.com – Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse – Terror Lurks in Bellport’s Iconic Theater
By Chelsea Triola
Oct. 22, 2013


This haunt will awaken all your senses, taking you away from reality for a bit, and keeping you on your toes. Each room and scene is absolutely captivating, getting more and more fascinating as it goes on. You begin to notice a theme as you make your way through, a nice touch not all haunts feature. These actors put on such a great performance because it is not only a job for them but a passion – even for the younger actors. They put their hearts and souls into creating fear for haunt goers and maintain their professional character the entire time.

RavenBlackCat.com – REVIEW: Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse of Horrors
By The Raven & Black Cat
Feb. 8, 2013


Gateway Playhouse always has amazing actors, original custom made props and sets, and a historic venue full of authentically creepy sights and smells. We were impressed with their 2011 haunted house, but they have out done themselves for 2012. Everything is more detailed and each scene expounds on the infection theme in a new way. The blood smell in the chapel where the zombie groom was eating his bride was both disturbingly perfect and nauseating. The mirrored medical room of mannequin doctors was unsettling and visually stunning. The talented actors induced fear and anxiety as they coughed uncontrollably into your personal space. Textured, uneven, and unpredictable floor coverings were used in certain areas to make the detailed environments come alive. The grotesquely fabulous makeup and 1940s era costumes are exquisite and largely responsible for the success of the haunt’s stylized period look.

New York Times (T Magazine) – Gateway Playhouse | House of Horrors
By Bruce Pask
Oct. 26, 2011

This is “immersive theater” taken to a whole new dark place, with disorienting floors, crashing walls and scenes of violence that literally leave one spattered. If “Sleep No More” left you, well, sleepy, this evening of theater will certainly keep you up at night.

RavenBlackCat.com – REVIEW: Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse of Horrors
By The Raven & Black Cat
Oct. 18, 2011


There is so much to love. The detailed sets and costumes, stellar make-up and special effects, actors that can really act, creepy old theater smells, a variety of textured walk-ways, and an extensive variety of horror themes. It is a brilliant marriage of top-notch theater production and the traditional haunted house.  If you love traditional haunted houses you absolutely must attend Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse of Horrors.



USA Today (Travel Tips) – Top Ten Haunted Houses in New York
By Joanne Robitaille
Oct. 2, 2011


Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse of Horrors (hauntedplayhouseofhorrors.com) is Long Island’s top-rated haunted house, according to its website. The haunted house is situated on a 100-year-old estate populated with all sorts of gruesome creatures; it is not recommended for kids 13 and under. This attraction is open throughout the month of October on weekdays and weekends. The Haunted Playhouse of Horrors also offers unique and elaborate costume rentals.

 

Examiner.com – The best haunted house on Long Island: Gateway’s Haunted Playhouse of Horrors
By Susan Durbin-Panker
October 14th, 2010 1:53 pm ET


OMG! If you like being scared out of your wits this is the haunted house for you! This is NOT your run of the mill haunted house or trail thrown together to “just make money” during the Halloween season. This is a production and the cast members are 5 star excellent! The amount of work that goes into creating this horror show is quite evident throughout.